PPPL Theory and Computation Department Physics Codes


The PPPL Theory and Computation Department wishes to make the physics codes that it has developed over the years available to outside users. Potential outside users are strongly encouraged to first communicate with the listed code developer. However, before codes can be transferred, all outside users must print out the License-Release Form with the associated Terms and Conditions, which can be downloaded here: (in PDF format). Then, fill it out and sign it, and fax (or mail) it to the Theory Department, at the fax number (or mailing address) listed on the Form. The currently available codes, in alphabetical order, are:

Code Name
Code Type
Developer(s)
e-mail address(es)
phone number(s)
ASTRA-ESC
Transport - MHD Equilibrium
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
BALLOON
MHD Stability
M. Chance
chance@pppl.gov
(609)243-2058
CAMINO
MHD Stability
M. Chance
chance@pppl.gov
(609)243-2058
Cbbst
X-ray Source Reconstruction
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
Cbdsr
Disruption Signals
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
Cbebm
3D Heat Transport
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
Cbesc
MHD Equilibrium & Orbits
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
Cbesi
MHD Equilibrium & Orbits
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
Cbjlf
Response Functions for Magnetic Diagnostics
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
Cbshl
EM Effects of Conducting Passive Structures
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
Cbtri
EM Effects of Conducting Passive Structures
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
DEGAS2
Neutral Particle Transport
D. Stotler
dstotler@pppl.gov
(609)243-2063
FULL
Gyrokinetic Stability
G. Rewoldt
rewoldt@pppl.gov
(609)243-2638
FWR2D
Reflectometry Simulation
E. Valeo
valeo@pppl.gov
(609)243-2610
GTC-NEO
Neoclassical Transport
W. Wang / G. Rewoldt
wwang@pppl.gov
rewoldt@pppl.gov
(609)243-2609 / (609)243-2638
GTCP
Global Gyrokinetic Transport
S. Ethier
ethier@pppl.gov
(609)243-3034
GTS
Global Gyrokinetic Transport
W. Wang / S. Ethier
wwang@pppl.gov
ethier@pppl.gov
(609)243-2609 / (609)243-3034
HYM
Global Hybrid MHD Stability
E. Belova
ebelova@pppl.gov
(609)243-2641
JSOLVER
MHD Equilibrium
S. Jardin
sjardin@pppl.gov
(609)243-2635
M3D
Global Nonlinear Extended MHD
J. Breslau
jbreslau@pppl.gov
(609)243-2677
M3D-C1
Global Nonlinear Extended MHD
N. Ferraro / S. Jardin
nferraro@pppl.gov sjardin@pppl.gov
(609)313-9487 / (609)243-2635
M3DK
Global Nonlinear Kinetic / MHD
G.-Y. Fu
fu@pppl.gov
(609)243-2614
NGS
Compact Notation for Numerical Codes
L. Zakharov
zakharov@pppl.gov
(609)243-2630
NOVA
Global Kinetic / MHD Stability
N. Gorelenkov / G.-Y. Fu
ngorelen@pppl.gov fu@pppl.gov
(609)243-2552 / (609)243-2614
NUBEAM
Neutral Beam Deposition
M. Gorelenkova
mgorelen@pppl.gov
(609)243-2137
ORBIT
Guiding Center Orbits
R. White
rwhite@pppl.gov
(609)243-2628
PEST
Global MHD Stability
J. Manickam
manickam@pppl.gov
(609)243-2633
PIES
Global Nonaxisymmetric MHD Equilibrium
D. Monticello / A. Reiman/ S. Lazerson
monticel@pppl.gov reiman@pppl.gov slazerso@pppl.gov
(609)243-2639 (609)243-2623 (609)243-2377
SPEC
Stepped-pressure Global Nonaxisymmetric MHD Equilibrium
S. Hudson
shudson@pppl.gov
(609)243-2631
TRANSP
Experimental Data Analysis & Transport
Transp Support
Transp_Support@pppl.gov
(609)243-2402
(609)243-2135
TSC
MHD Equilibrium & Profile Evolution
S. Jardin
sjardin@pppl.gov
(609)243-2635
VACUUM
Vacuum Region Magnetic Fields
M. Chance
chance@pppl.gov
(609)243-2058
VEST
Vector Einstein Summation Tool
Jonathan Squire
jsquire@pppl.gov

WKB
Differential Equation Solver
R. White
rwhite@pppl.gov
(609)243-2628
XGC-0
3D Edge Neoclassical Transport
S. Ku / C. Chang
sku@pppl.gov
cschang@pppl.gov
(609)243-2684 (609)243-2127
XGC-1
3D Edge Neoclassical & Turbulent Transport
S. Ku / C. Chang
sku@pppl.gov
cschang@pppl.gov
(609)243-2684 (609)243-2127

MHD Code Execution Scripts

Scripts are available to aid in running the TSC, JSOLVER, BALLOON, PEST, and NOVA codes. See the relevant web page for more information.

Code Categories

The PPPL Theory and Computation Department codes have been divided into categories, depending on their status and usage. The categories and corresponding codes are:

Category I. Unlisted Proprietary Research Codes -- privately developed codes used by individual theorists for exploratory work. Such codes typically lack documentation and may be short lived.

Category II. Listed Proprietary Research Codes -- a web page is provided here. Code sharing is decided by the author / developer on a case by case basis. Collaboration using the code may require an extended visit to PPPL to learn the code. Access to high-performance computing facilities is often required.

M3D/M3D-C1/M3DK, GTS, GTCP, PIES, FULL, HYM, XGC-0, XGC-1

Category III. Shared Research Codes -- a more extensive web page is provided here. Code available on request with approval of code author / developer. Approval is generally granted to qualified research collaborators with any reasonable plan for use or development.

DEGAS2, SPEC

Category IV. Production Codes -- an extensive web page is provided here, including detailed instructions for use of the code. A public production version of the code is available and is supported on an appropriate computing platform, depending on code requirements (typically, a PPPL cluster or NERSC). End users are encouraged to use this production version (normally, via a web page), but the code files are also available for development collaboration on request, with the approval of the code author / developer.

TRANSP, TSC, Linear Stability Codes (JSOLVER, BALLOON, PEST, NOVA), FWR2D, GTC-NEO

Category V. Mature well documented codes or libraries which are available to anyone (as with the NTCC codes).

NUBEAM, ORBIT, VACUUM, WKB

Category VI. Cb codes belonging to the CodeBuilder system of code development and between-code communication. These codes are available to anyone.

ASTRA-ESC, Cbbst, Cbdsr, Cbebm, Cbesc, Cbesi, Cbjlf, Cbshl, Cbtri